Here Comes the Quiet One

Featured Image -- 652

abohemiansrhapsody:

On George Harrison’s birthday, to a genius gone too soon.

Originally posted on abohemiansrhapsody:

Let me tell you how it will be.

George ‘the Quiet One’ Harrison is one of those people in the world that means more to me than any real person I’ve ever known, even myself. He’s like family to me, even though I never knew the man personally.

But when I listen to him play and sing and speak, it really feels like I do. I’ve ‘known’ George since I was a little baby, so 21 years and counting now.  Back then, of course, I had no idea which Beatle was which on the record, so I just enjoyed listening to them rather indifferently.

George songs always sounded ‘different’, though. They had a very otherworldly feel to them, while still being about the human condition (and sometimes very, very scary indeed).

One of the first Beatles songs I ever heard, one that was on the 1967-1970 album (the first Beatles…

View original 1,478 more words

About abohemiansrhapsody

Writer, reader, musician, crossword puzzle addict, social scientist, funnywoman, traveller and Beatlemaniac extraordinaire, I enjoy the first of those things the most. I write about society, culture, feminism, politics, economics, film, advertising, of things that affect the world at large. I love to sing, and play the piano and a bit of guitar. I also love taking photos. Of anything and everything. My food, a dog on the street, a panhandler, a piece of trash. If I likes, I strikes. Whenever and wherever the inspiration strikes. Currently at the LSE, being a social scientist and writing every moment of my life. When I'm not writing news articles, blogs and essays, I like working on a bit of fiction. You can find my short stories and other general musings at: www.anuthebeatlegirl.blogspot.com or http://anuthebeatlegirl.wordpress.com My photography and poetry at: http://www.schizoiddeviant.deviantart.com And my music at: http://www.youtube.com/anu2601

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

